An ignition interlock device (IID) is like a breathalyzer for the ignition on your car. Also referred to as a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) in Missouri, the device is installed in a vehicle and requires blowing a “clean” breath sample in order to start and continue operating the car. An IID allows individuals charged with multiple DWIs to begin driving again, limited by the device to make sure the driver is sober.
Ignition Interlock Device After a Missouri DWI
A suspended license is one of the consequences associated with driving while impaired DWI) in Missouri. However, many people simply cannot get around without a car. Individuals may have a long distance to go to work, work at off-hours, or live and work in rural areas. Beyond just working, people need to take kids to and from school or daycare, buy groceries, and go to the doctor.
After a DWI, these individuals will also have to find a way to go to court hearings and attend any court-ordered drug or alcohol treatment. An IID allows drivers with a DWI arrest or multiple DWIs to get around while still keeping an impaired driver off the road. Drivers charged with a 2nd DWI or multiple DWIs are required to have an IID installed before driving privileges can be reinstated.
License Reinstatement or Limited Driving Privileges
Drivers with more than one DWI will be required to have an IID installed and monitored before their full driving privileges are restored. This generally requires waiting out the revocation or license denial period, then having an IID installed for at least 6 months. If there are any recorded violations in the last 3 months of the 6 month period, the IID requirement may be extended.
Driver under a suspension, revocation, or license denial may be able to petition for limited driving privileges (LDP). Drivers with more than one alcohol offense are required to install an IID before an LDP can be issued. The court can also require an IID for drivers with a 1st-offense DWI. The IID is generally required for the length of the suspension or denial period.
Do I need an IID after a 1st DWI?
In most cases, drivers are not required to have an IID after a one-time DWI. However, drivers can get restricted driving privileges reinstated after a 1st DWI if they install an IID. If a driver has no prior alcohol convictions, the driver may be eligible for an immediate 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP). The benefits of a 90-day RDP with an IID are that the driver can continue driving without having to wait out a mandatory suspension period.
Can I trick the IID and still drive?
Before you try and “trick” the IID, consider what might be at stake. Using an IID for the mandatory period will allow you to get your driving privileges reinstated. Any tampering with the device may be reported and result in an extended IID restriction period. Additionally, tampering with, circumventing, or misusing the IID is a Class A misdemeanor!
There are a number of tamper-proof features built into IIDs. This includes required cameras on IIDs for drivers with a 5 or 10-year license denial. Instead of trying to “trick” the IID, it is better to comply with the license restrictions and avoid the potential for court sanctions and possible criminal charges.
Raymore DWI Defense Attorney
Avoiding a criminal conviction in the first place may mean that you can avoid the hassle of a suspended license, IIDs, and higher insurance rates. If you were accused of driving while impaired in Cass County, Missouri, contact the Joshua Wilson Law Firm today by calling (816) 331-9968 or fill out our online form.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment