What are the Current Laws in Missouri for Medical Marijuana?
After years of aggressive prosecution for the use of marijuana in Missouri, the voting public passed a ballot initiative legalizing medical marijuana in 2018. This ballot initiative allows for the medical use of marijuana when recommended by physicians licensed with the state. It also created licensing and certification guidelines for consumers and those seeking to market medical marijuana to the public.
While the approval of Amendment 2 was a big step in the right direction, there are still strict limitations on the use of marijuana in Missouri. Chief among those is a ban on any form of recreational marijuana. What's more, holders of a medical marijuana card could also face prosecution if they stray from the limitations provided by the state marijuana rules. According to Missouri Statutes Section 579.015, possession of fewer than 10 grams of marijuana without a medical card is a Class A misdemeanor.
Applying for a Medical Marijuana Card
Medical marijuana cards are only available to residents that suffer from specific qualifying conditions. The list of these conditions is broad. Some examples of qualifying conditions include autism, glaucoma, neuropathy, or a terminal illness.
It is not enough to claim a qualifying condition. An applicant must obtain a certification from a Missouri physician confirming the condition and recommending the use of medical marijuana to treat it. After obtaining this certification, a person must submit an application to the state and await approval.
It is worth noting that while prior criminal convictions will not prohibit an applicant from obtaining a medical marijuana card, committing certain drug offenses could cause the revocation of an existing card. To apply for a card, you must register online and fill out the application.
How Much Marijuana Can You Possess?
In Missouri, cardholders are not allowed to keep more than a 30-day supply of marijuana at any given time. A 30-day supply is considered 4 ounces of marijuana or the equivalent to that amount in other products. It is possible to obtain approval to purchase more than that amount if two independent physicians sign off on a patient's need for additional treatment.
How Much Marijuana Can You Grow?
If you have been approved by the state, you are allowed to grow a small amount of marijuana thanks to a medical marijuana card. In total, you can have six flowering plants growing in your private residence at any given time. These plants must be in a secure space and out of the reach of children.
Where Can I Smoke Medical Marijuana in Missouri?
Unlike in some other states, the use of medical marijuana is only allowed in private. Not only must you consume medical marijuana on your private property, but it must be done in a place where you have reason to believe you will not be observed by the public.
Discuss Your Medical Marijuana Rights with an Attorney
If you are unsure of your rights regarding medical marijuana in Missouri, it is never safe to make assumptions. While there are many benefits to the state's medical marijuana laws, serious consequences remain for the possession or use of marijuana outside of what is allowed for medical use. Marijuana is still illegal according to Federal law and nothing in this blog shall be construed to circumvent Federal law.
If you have questions regarding medical marijuana in Missouri, the Joshua Wilson Law Firm could help. Contact us online to schedule your initial consultation.